Jul 052010

Twelve states held elections for state governor Sunday 4 July 2010.

VotingThe preliminary results show that PRI (in association with various smaller parties) won 9 state governorships, and that PAN-PRD alliance won three.

Mexico’s political parties in order of year of foundation:

  • PRI Partido Revolucionario Insititucional (Institutional Revolutionary Party), founded 1929
  • PAN Partido Acción Nacional (National Action Party), founded 1939
  • PRD Partido de la Revolución Democrática (Party of the Democratic Revolution), founded, 1988
  • PT Partido de Trabajo (Labor Party), founded 1990
  • PVEM Partido Verde Ecologísta de México (Mexico’s Green Party), founded 1991
  • Convergencia por la Democracia (Convergence for Democracy), founded 1999
  • PRV Partido Revolucionario Veracruzano (Veracruz Revolutionary Party), founded 2004
  • Partido Nueva Allianza (New Alliance Party), founded 2005 by the National Union of Educational Workers

Results state-by-state, with name of governor-elect and parties represented

  • Aguascalientes:  Carlos Lozano de la Torre, PRI-PVEM-Nueva Alianza coalition.
  • Puebla: Rafael Moreno Valle,  PAN-PRD-Nueva Alianza-Convergencia coalition
  • Quintana Roo: Roberto Borge Angulo, PRI-PVEM-Nueva Alianza coalition
  • Durango: Jorge Herrera Caldera, PRI
  • Tamaulipas: Egidio Torre Cantú, PRI-PVEM-Nueva Alianza coalition (Torre Cantú is the brother of Rodolfo Torre Cantú, the PRI party candidate for governor who was assassinated a week before the election)
  • Veracruz:  Javier Duarte de Ochoa, PRI-PVEM-PRV coalition
  • Sinaloa, Mario López Valdez, PAN-PRD-PT-Convergencia
  • Tlaxcala: Mariano González Zarur PRI- PVEM
  • Oaxaca: Gabino Cué, PAN-PRD-PT-Convergencia.
  • Zacatecas: Alonso Reyes, PRI-PVEM.
  • Chihuahua: César Duarte, PRI
  • Hidalgo: Francisco Olvera, PRI-PVEM-Nueva Alianza coalition

Chapter 12 of Geo-Mexico: the geography and dynamics of modern Mexico takes a close look at Mexico’s political patterns. Buy your copy today, so you have a handy guide to the “back story” behind Mexico’s current affairs.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.